OHSAS 18001

Natta has recently achieved accreditation for OHSAS 18001 which was adopted in 1999 as a British Standard for occupational health and safety management systems. This powerful accreditation is widely viewed as the world’s most recognised occupational health and safety management systems standard.

Before 1999 there existed a wide range of similar standards, and this proliferation generated a need for a singular, uniform standard that could be identified across many industries and transcend national boundries. So an international collaboration, named The Occupational Health and Safety Advisory Services (OHSAS) Project Group, was established with representatives from varying bodies to create a unified accreditation. The OHSASPG released the OHSAS 18000 Series in 1999, drawing on a variety of existing schemes and standards. As of 2009 over 54,000 certificates have been issued in 116 countries, proving the success of this international collaboration.

OHSAS 18001

The overriding objective of OHSAS 18001 is to aid organisations in the development and implementation of an effective OH&S system which recognises legislative requirements and Health and Safety risks in the work place. The accreditation is effective universally across all industries, nations and cultures. OHSAS 18001 is designed to been easily implemented alongside existing systems, such as ISO 9001 and ISO 14001.

Natta’s successful accreditation in this internationally universal standard is a poignant milestone in our endeavors to not only maintain, but further our already exceptionally high standards of Health and Safety.

OHSAS 18001 is not to be confused with ISO 18000, which, while it does indeed exist, is in fact a radio frequency identification.

For more information on the OHSAS 18000 series, see the BSI website.

Posted by Jo Whelan
Categorized: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply